It’s been a long time…

I feel like it’s been decades since I’ve posted. Over the last few months, my life has been turned completely upside, which has been completely for the best. I’m living on my own for the first time and am truly facing the game of turning surviving into thriving. I’m looking at life from a completely different perspective, one that embraces freedom, independence, drive, passion, strength, stamina, and that sometimes elusive stability…

“What is stability, in the most basic sense?

The dictionary definition states that it is “the strength to stand or endure: Firmness.”

Shit yeah, I’ve got that under control. If nothing else in my life, I possess the strength to stand on my own two feet and endure anything. So in that vein, the notion of stability resides in who we are and how we approach life. Our endurance, stamina and wherewithal when faced with life’s toughest decisions—our ability to trust and believe…”

So if nothing else, I’ve got this stability thing down, which is funny to me, because stability is something I never thought I had. I’ve always felt so disjointed, such a complete gypsy, wanderer, that the notion of anything stable in my life seemed laughable. Sometimes, it still does, because life isn’t meant to be stabilized. It is a constantly growing, expanding, awkwardly maturing child. We’re in a constant state of influx, so to me, stability is finding your footing in the midst of the earth’s evolutions and understanding the dance of balance, of staying upright – skills acquired in the throes of living a full, adventurous, answer-seeking life.

I’m definitely in the throes of my journey, finding myself in a new home, learning what it is to be part of a family, whether by blood or my choice, and finally, at 33, getting a crash course in what it means to be truly, FULLY alive for what feels like the first time in my experience. I can unabashedly say that I’ve never felt better…and I really can’t wait to see what the universe has in store for me in the days, weeks, months and years to come.

More than I ever could have imagined, that I’m wholeheartedly sure of.

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2013/06/can-i-be-the-seeker-the-constant-adventurer-still-create-the-foundation-stability-i-need-to-feel-whole-jillian-locke/

Leave a Reply

